Posted in Genealogy, Genealogy Lessons

Lessons Learned: Family Members

Indigenous Oral History
An Indigenous elder shares a story with others.
Photo Credit: William E. Weiss, Buffalo Bill Historical Center/The Art Archive.

Most Native American cultures did not communicate through written language. In its place there was a long history of oral tradition. While the stories and the manner in which they’re told may differ from group to group, the purpose is the same: oral tradition is how indigenous peoples have passed on knowledge, cultural and social values, history, and collective memory for thousands of years.

Oral tradition utilizes proverbs, riddles, tales, nursery rhymes, legends, myths, epic songs and poems, charms, prayers, chants, songs, dramatic performances and more. I love the way Navarre Scott Momaday, a Kiowa novelist, short story writer, essayist, and poet, explains the storytelling tradition of the Kiowa, “Words are spoken with great care, and they are heard [emphasis mine]. They matter, and they must not be taken for granted; they must be taken seriously, and they must be remembered . . . At the heart of the American Indian oral tradition is a deep and unconditional belief in the efficacy of language. Words are intrinsically powerful.”

What I personally love the most about all of this is the fact that, when an elder spoke, the younger generations listened. Oral tradition was a powerful way to connect the past, present, and future as well as tightening tribal and familial bonds. [I am using past tense here, unfortunately, because of language loss due to the systemic destruction and assimilation of Native peoples. Some Native languages have been completely wiped out, while others have been weakened. I am happy to see a push for preserving Native language!] 

I desperately wish we lived in a culture that listened to its elders. I feel like we, as a whole, do not value the older generations as much we could. Who can blame us when society is obsessed with what’s new: we’re constantly inundated with breaking news, new technology, and the latest/greatest/newest/improved gadgets, and all the while we’re constantly refreshing our social media feeds for new content. I think older folks kind of get lost in the shuffle, especially the ones who cannot keep up and/or prefer the old ways. And I think the old ways have a place in society.

Don’t get me wrong. Many of the “old ways” have changed for the better. For instance, we have made great strides in human rights. But this is not what I am referring to. I believe we must be careful to acknowledge and preserve the good parts—the stories, experiences, and perspectives of those who came before us; after all, they are part & parcel of who we are now. They are vital pieces to our evolution as a society, and their stories are woven together with our own. Even when our political views don’t align, I believe that when we can connect, one human to another, we are better for it. 

With all of that said, I am so guilty of all of this, myself, and I have realized my folly way too late in the game. Now that I am passionate about genealogy, I long to connect with those who came before me. I have so many unanswered questions about their lives, experiences, and perspectives. But they are all gone now, and their stories are gone as well.

While I am waxing philosophical, I am doing so as a warning to others. Do not do as I have done. Do not allow your elders to take their stories with them to the grave. Talk to them. Ask them questions. Write down what they have to say! Better yet record them (with their permission, of course). Our elders are a valuable resource, especially for the genealogist. Whether you make it formal or whether it just sort of happens spontaneously at a family gathering: document, document, document! 

After all, it’s not as if I was totally devoid of family stories, but guess what? I’ve forgotten most of what I was told. My paternal grandmother, in particular, was a sociable woman who loved to tell stories. But she’s been gone for 15 years now, and I’ve forgotten her stories. I do remember her uncle with the funny name—RZ. No, those were not initials; that was his name. He was Uncle “Arz.” I also remember that her father—my great grandfather—had 3 middle names; he was Samuel Emanuel Chipman Waltz Mort. I seriously cherish these little facts nowadays and am thankful that I have remembered something. But just imagine what I could have learned had I only taken the time to ask. She would have gladly regaled me with tales of growing up on a dairy farm, or stories about teaching in a one-room schoolhouse. She loved chatting. [She also loved laughing. I miss her laugh, and I can still hear it in my head]

My Grandma Burl

If you are interested in getting into genealogy, start with your family members. Along with providing you with names, dates, places, and relationships, they may have “stuff” like family bibles, newspaper clippings, military certificates, birth and death certificates, marriage licenses, naturalization certificates, diaries, letters, scrapbooks, photographs, baby books, and maybe even some memorabilia. And finally, listen to their stories. Many people love to reminisce and would welcome the opportunity to stroll down Memory Lane. You may be surprised at what you find out and wind up seeing your loved one in a whole new light!

Addendum:

If you are interested in learning more about Native American storytelling, you may want to check out the biography of Paul Buffalo, who was a member of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe in Minnesota. Several years ago,I stumbled upon his story by accident, and I am so glad I did. I was fascinated by the recounting of his life as a young boy growing up with one foot in the traditional Ojibwe world, and the other foot in the white modern world. And I, personally, was delighted and charmed by his manner of storytelling, which really made me feel like I was “hearing” him. Be warned: it includes a lot of repetition, and that is by design. As stated by Professor Timothy Roufs, “Things are repeated to emphasize certain items. Things are repeated to add emphasis. Things are repeated to insure that one does not forget; that is, repetition is used as a learning device.” Repetition is a crucial part of oral tradition.”

Author:

Hello! I live in Michigan with my daughter and my cat, Sassafras. In the spring & summer, you will often find me camping throughout the state or watching a Tigers game. In my downtime, I will usually be on my iPad exploring some corner of the internet because I am passionate about learning new things. More recently, I am rediscovering my love for hobbies that fell by the wayside after a traumatic brain injury. This is the space where I write about what I’m discovering along the way.

One thought on “Lessons Learned: Family Members

Leave a comment